Reverse lens macro photography

I have always had a fancy for shooting macro… a few months ago, mom got a 105mm (Nikkor) macro lens, and I had a chance to play around with it, a little bit, before my parents finished their vacation at home. Yesterday, while on the phone with her, we discussed a few things photographic, and she gave me a few lenses to look up. While browsing the internet, I came across the reverse lens technique for macro photography. After a few more searches on Google, I found a site that explains it beautifully (http://stephenelliot.com/2007/05/15/reverse-lens-macro-photography-tutorial/)
After going through it, I knew this was just something, I definitely had to try! So, this morning, I picked a coral jasmine (the Nyctanthes arbor-tristis) and got to it. These pictures (except the first one) have been clicked with two lenses – my 50mm, attached as usual to the camera, and my 18-200mm flipped over and butted-up to the 50mm. The results were mind-blowing! I’ve got to work on this a lot more, to get my pictures to look even better, but I have to admit, I’m pretty pleased with the results, given that this was my first shot.

Coral Jasmine

Reverse lens - 1

Reverse lens - 2

Reverse lens - 3

Leave a Reply

